Entertaining · Food

Seasonings for Thought

img_4148Since I am Canadian, I had never been to a Trader Joe’s before.  I had no idea what all the hype was about.

Last year while on maternity leave, I spent a few months in Southwest Florida.  This is where I visited my first Trader Joe’s.  At first, while browsing through the store, I really didn’t understand what all the hype is about, until I got the wine section and saw how cheap the wine is!  I bought a few bottles of the Trader Joe’s Cabernet Sauvignon and they were pretty good for how inexpensive they were.

I went down all the food isles and except for some pasta and sauces, I really didn’t find anything that caught my eye.

The only reason I even wanted to go to Trader Joe’s in the first place was because a friend told me how awesome it was and she wanted me to pick up a special spice for her. I was on a mission to find these spices!  One of the spices is called “21 Seasoning Salute,” and another that I wanted to try was the “Everyday Seasoning.”  I really enjoyed the 21 Seasoning Salute because well there are 21 different seasonings in it and it is SALT FREE.  If you pour the seasoning in your hand and break it up with your fingers so that the oils come out, it makes food that much more flavourful.   My second favourite seasoning is the Everyday Seasoning.  There is salt in this one but I don’t use a lot of it at one time.  I generally use it on meats, salads, eggs and it tastes great.  It is a bit more flavourful then just salt and pepper.  So there you go! A few spice hints for ya.

Tori

Leave a Reply

